Exploring Richmond: Maymont Park

I was talking to my friend Casey one day about how I wanted to start exploring Virginia and seeing what this common wealth state had to offer. I had a list written on computer paper of all these places I wanted to visit and he said to me, “you should add Maymont Park on there.” I didn’t even have to look it up to know it’d be cool. Casey is like my Mr. Miagi of exploring. He tells me about all these cool places he finds, and he is also my travel partner for my trip to Iceland coming up in  September. So a few weeks later, I got in my car and headed an hour away up to Richmond, VA to check out Maymont Park.

IMG_3586

The Maymont Mansion.

Maymont Park is a 100-acre Victorian estate built in 1893 by Major James H. Dooley and his wife, Sallie. It has the Maymont Mansion which is now a historic house museum, an arboretum, formal gardens, native wildlife exhibits, children’s farm, and so much more.

If you would like to know more and plan a day here, you can visit here.

I got there around 11 in the morning and was already sweating from the humid weather of Virginia. I walked in and dropped in $5 into the donation box. Entering Maymont is free, but I always try to donate when I can. Not only does it help keep these places free to the public but it helps keep these properties nice for the visitors.

IMG_3569

I felt like a victorian girl walking through here. It was like stepping into another time. I put my phone away, except to take pictures and just enjoyed the view and all the things the park had to offer.

IMG_3572

I’m a sucker for stairs. I always love to see where they lead, and it did not disappoint. These stairs led to a trail, which came up to this beautiful waterfall.

IMG_4414

I mean, really?!

I sat on a rock by the waterfall for about an hour. It was relaxing and the sounds of the water running was like natures music. There were people around the waterfall, which kind of took away from it, but none the less it was magical. I would have never guessed there was a mini waterfall sitting in the middle of an estate in Richmond Virginia. It amazes me the things that are right infront of our eyes that we miss because we aren’t looking.

IMG_4413

I know this isn’t a very detailed post about the park and my visit, but there are some things you need to see for yourself. Sometimes when you go somewhere without expecting anything, you come out better than you were before. Too often do we hold expectations to things in life and always end up disappointed. The best thing about finding new experiences and discovering things around us is that we don’t expect anything, so we get to fully enjoy the moment.

Would you ever visit Maymont Park? If you have, tell me what you liked the most in the comments! If you have never been tell me another place you have been that you came out with a new perspective!

Leave a Reply

